free chess

Free Chess

Vote and you will unmask!
Crazy name, real passions
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
jdsonne 47 ( +1 | -1 )
How can this be a draw game? I just played the following moves (see below) and it came to a stalemate even though I had the advantage. I'm not a very experienced chess player so there must be something I miss. (See also my "past game history" "jdsonne vs joe768")
Hope to get some answers!
Thanks!

jdsonne

1. e4 e5
2. Nf3 d6
3. Nc3 Bg4
4. Bc4 h6
5. d3 Bxf3
6. Qxf3 f6
7. a3 a6
8. O-O Nc6
9. Be3 b5
10. Bd5 Qd7
11. Qf5 Ng-e7
12. Qh5+ g6
13. Qf3 f5
14. Bd2 Nd4
15. Qd1 Nxd5
16. Nxd5 Bg7
17. Ba5 Ne6
18. c3 fxe4
19. dxe4 Bf6
20. Nxf6+ Ke7
21. Nxd7 Kxd7
22. Qd2 g5
23. Ra-d1 Nc5
24. Qd5 Rh-f8
25. Bb4 Ra-e8
26. Bxc5 Re6
27. Bb4 Rc8
28. Qb7 Rf6
29. Qxa6 c6
30. a4 bxa4
31. Qxa4 Rf4
32. Bxd6 Ke6
33. Qa6 Rd8
34. Qxc6 Rd7
35. Bc5+ Kf7
36. Qxd7+ Kg6
37. Qe6+ Rf6
38. Qxe5 h5
39. Rd6 h4
40. Rxf6+ Kh5
41. h3
misato 67 ( +1 | -1 )
chess rules It was your opponent's move, but he was not able to do a move meeting the chess rules. Both pawns couldn't move (one blocked and the other one pinned by your Queen) and the King had no space where to move because all were covered by the white tokens.
This is "stalemate" and the result is a draw.

With your final move you covered the last escape square for his King (g4) and blocked his h-pawn, so you unfortunately killed two birds with one stone - but these birds were both good for you.
A better idea would have been to move your bishop to e3 looking towards g5. No matter if he moves the h-pawn or his King (to g4), Qxg5 is mate!
More: Chess
jdsonne 3 ( +1 | -1 )
Thanks, now it makes sense! :-)